Dexys News Archive - 2003 Special

dexys_2003.jpgdexys_2003.jpg2003 was an exciting year in the story of Dexys Midnight Runners. After years of speculation and rumours of come-backs which failed to materialise, Kevin Rowland decided that the time, the place (and yes, the mood) was right for a new Dexys incarnation. New material was recorded and a tour organised. A line-up was recruited, featuring old soul rebels Pete Williams and Mick Talbot alongside fellow ex-Bureau member, Paul Taylor and "My Beauty" guitarist Neil Hubbard.
On Wednesday 17th September, Dexys Midnight Runners played together in front of BBC TV cameras for the first time in 18 years. This historic occasion took place in a TV performance of "Manhood" for "Top Of The Pops 2" (which was subsequently broadcast on October 8th) and was the first time the full new Dexys line-up had performed together in public.

A new best of compilation, 'Let's Make This Precious', released on 22nd September 2003 included the two newly recorded songs, 'Manhood' and 'My Life  In England (Part One)' produced by Mike Hedges who had previously worked with U2, Travis and Manic Street Preachers. The new tracks (co-written by Kevin Rowland, Jimmy Paterson and David Ditchfield back in the early 90's) also featured original Dexys keyboard player, Pete Saunders and backing vocals from Pete Williams as well as session players Brilliant Strings, including Lucy Morgan who subsequently joined the Dexys tour.

For further details of the album see the Kevin Rowland and Dexys Midnight Runners discography.


This release was followed by a live appearance at Newcastle's Baltic Centre on October 4th which was broadcast on Radio 2. The short set featuring "My Life In England", "Because Of You" and "Come On Eileen" was performed by a four-piece line-up of Kevin Rowland, Pete Williams, Mick Talbot and Neil Hubbard, giving the songs an 'unplugged' feel.





The full line-up of Dexys' 2003 incarnation was as follows:

Kevin Rowland - Main ideas man, general inspiration and angelic, soulful voice. (ex-Killjoys)

Pete Williams - Right hand man, multi-talented guy, joint lead-singer (ex-Bureau, Blue Ox Babes, These Tender Virtues, Basehart).
Mick Talbot - "I am not a keyboard player, I am a Hammond player." Musical Director
Lucy Morgan - Violin (Celticana, Brilliant Strings) 
Paul Taylor - Trombone (ex-Bureau) See Paul's website
Neil Hubbard - Guitar, last played with Kevin on My Beauty, also appeared with Roxy Music and a whole host of others
Julian Crampton - Bass, (ex-Incognito) also worked with Pasedenas and Terry Callier
Crispin Taylor - Drums (ex-Galliano, a band that Mick Talbot appeared with)
Volker Janssen - Keyboards (ex Spear Of Destiny)

In October Dexys Midnight Runners returned to the stage for their first tour in eighteen years, playing a warm-up gig in Dubai before completing twenty dates on the British leg of the tour, and then relocating to Scandinavia for a further four dates.

The tour which received enthusiastic responses from audiences and rave reviews from the media was heralded as a triumphant return. Dexys played the opening show of their British tour in Portsmouth on 21st October 2003 . The full details of the tour were as follows:

British leg:

1 Tue 21st Oct PORTSMOUTH Guildhall


3 Thu 23rd Oct WOLVERHAMPTON Civic Hall

4 Sat 25th Oct LEEDS Grand Theatre

5 Sun 26th Oct BASINGSTOKE The Anvil

6 Tue 28th Oct BRISTOL Colston Hall

7 Wed 29th Oct CAMBRIDGE Corn Exchange

8 Fri 31st Oct GUILDFORD Civic

9 Sun 2nd Nov ABERDEEN Music Hall

10 Mon 3rd Nov GLASGOW Pavilion

11 Tue 4th Nov NEWCASTLE Opera House

12 Thu 6th Nov MANCHESTER Academy

13 Fri 7th Nov LIVERPOOL Royal Court Theatre *

14 Sat 8th Nov NORTHAMPTON Derngate

15 Mon 10th Nov LONDON Royal Festival Hall

16 Tue 11th Nov MILTON KEYNES Stables

17 Wed 12th Nov PLYMOUTH Pavilions

18 Fri 14th Nov COVENTRY Warwick Arts Centre

19 Sat 15th Nov DUBLIN Vicar Street

20 Sun 16th Nov BELFAST Waterfront Hall

21 Tue 18th Nov LEICESTER De Montford Hall

Scandinavian leg:
1 Thur 20th Nov: MALMO (KB)
2 Sat 22nd Nov: OSLO (Rockefeller)
3 Sun 23rd Nov: STOCKHOLM (Cirkus)
4 Mon 24th Nov: GOTHENBURG (Trädgårn)
* The Liverpool show was filmed for release on the DVD "It Was Like This - Live".

The Singles:


When news of Dexys' return was first publicised it was announced that "Manhood" would be the band's come-back single. However its release date was repeatedly postponed and although promo copies were produced and played on national radio as "the new Dexys single" the track never gained a commercial release.


Following the non-release of "Manhood", "My Life In England" was expected to be the new Dexys single but no firm plans for release were ever announced and it gradually became clear it would never see the light of day. Although both recordings were included on the 'Let's Make This Precious' CD, only promo copies of either single release are available. See the Singles Discography for more details.